Changes to Pardot User Sync and Creation

We have seen a lot of great changes over the last few months when it comes to Pardot and its integration with Salesforce. One change of significance is how to create and manage users. Previously we published a blog informing you about important changes happening in February 2021 to the Pardot only users. 

If you have missed out on any of this news, this blog will get you up to speed.

Salesforce vs Pardot Users

Mapping Pardot & Salesforce users

If your Pardot account was provisioned prior to July’ 20 and you do not have Salesforce User Sync enabled yet, you are creating Pardot and Salesforce users separately. Your user section should look something like this:

The blue letters indicate the Pardot user details versus the black user name represent the Salesforce CRM user. Mapping a Pardot user to CRM user has multiple benefits:

  • If assigning prospects to a user in Pardot, based on your setup, it caters for a lead being created in Salesforce under the ownership of the mapped CRM user
  • If assigning prospects to Pardot users without being mapped against a CRM user there is a risk for the prospect being reassigned to the connector user if other actions, such as pushing into Salesforce campaigns are involved
  • You can enable single-sign in (green tickbox) which enables you to login with Salesforce credentials only if using the Pardot Classic app

Although it is recommended mapping all Pardot users to respective Salesforce users, you can still create standalone Pardot users, like Mickey Mouse, in our example. As we have mentioned before, an unmapped user will soon need to change. 

You have probably noticed a banner in your Pardot account saying the following, “from February’ 21 Salesforce will put changes in place where every Pardot user will need to be mapped to a Salesforce user and login will need to happen via single sign in only for security purposes”. If you are thinking now – hold on – I don’t have enough Salesforce user licenses for all my Pardot users and don’t have the budget to get more, Salesforce has got you covered. 

Salesforce has provisioned 100 so-called ‘Identity licenses’ in your account from August’ 20. You will be able to allocate these licences to any Pardot Only Users to enable single-sign in.

You can find out in this blog article how to prepare and make the change.

Once all Pardot only users are mapped and single sign in is enabled, you will only be able to log into Pardot via the ‘Login with Salesforce’ button:

Please note: Pardot only users which are currently setup for API integrations with other technology should be kept as Pardot only users for now. Salesforce is working on a solution for those user types to keep API integrations running while upgrading user authentication processes.

Salesforce User Sync 

With all the changes that are taking place in Pardot we would like to encourage you to get User Sync enabled. 

Automatic user sync between Salesforce & Pardot where we can manage Pardot users by mapping a Salesforce Profile against a Pardot Role has been available for a while now with the following banner in your account:

If you started only using Pardot after July ‘20 or you turned on User Sync by following the banner above prior to this date, your list of users should look something like this:

If not enabled and when clicking on the above-mentioned green button, you will see this message:

Moving Pardot User Assignment into Salesforce

As per the above message, enabling user sync now means transferring the user management from Pardot to Salesforce. System Administrators in Salesforce are now enabled to decide on an individual user, group or role level which Salesforce users should get access to Pardot and sync across. In Pardot, you will only be left with mapping the Salesforce Profiles to Pardot Roles.

Important note: Whether you currently have User Sync enabled or not, you will need to assign the users in Salesforce as per below as your critical first step:

In Salesforce, navigate to Setup (you will need System Admin access for this), type ‘Pardot’ into the quick find box and navigate to ‘Pardot Account Setup’:

Click on ‘Manage Users’ which will bring you to the screen below:

Click ‘Edit User Assignments’ to assign your Pardot users from Salesforce:

  • Marketing User – use this for any/all Pardot User Roles. It is acceptable to put all users in this role and configure permissions in Pardot via mapping the Salesforce Profile against a Pardot role as we know it from User Sync
  • Sales User – use this ONLY for Pardot Sales Users, as it maps to the Pardot Sales User role. Do not use this for custom user roles or sales managers as it will not give them proper access.

Marketing & Sales user access can be given on a user, role, roles & subordinates and public group level

Once the above setup is done and you have User Sync already enabled, you want to navigate to and edit your connector by navigating to the User Sync tab:

In Pardot Classic you will find it as a drop down under Admin -> Connectors, editing the Salesforce Connector and Connector Settings:

And in Lightning under Pardot Settings -> Connectors, editing the Salesforce Connector and then clicking on the tab on the top:

There will be a banner to opt-in to the user setup in Salesforce:

You can now opt in and follow the process. After opting-in and if you had User Sync already enabled, profile selection checkboxes are removed from the User Sync section of the Salesforce Connector and previous checkbox settings are default on.

If you do not have User Sync enabled yet, click on ‘Enable User Sync’ in the Pardot user section after the critical first step above. You will be taken through a wizard which displays the documentation, checks the Connector User permissions and Salesforce User Assignment.

Upon completion of the wizard, you will be redirected to the User Sync section of the Salesforce Connector edit screen for the final role mapping:

On the left hand side are the available Salesforce Profiles which can be ticked and then mapped to a specific Pardot Role (default: Administrator, Marketing, Sales Manager, Sales). 

You can also choose for the Pardot Role to update automatically with the Salesforce Profile and if Pardot Users should be moved to the recycle bin if they do not have an assigned profile anymore:

These settings are available in the mapping process.

For more information, please find the Salesforce documentation here.

Please contact us for more information on this process. We encourage all Pardot Admins to start working towards using this new feature as it will make the big change in February 2021 more seamless.

Recent Posts

Changes to Pardot User Sync and Creation

If you are a Pardot and Sales Cloud customer we have created an easy solution that you can set up to start tracking visitor and staff activity, allowing you to quickly generate reports. . This can also help you build out your marketing database at the same time if you have visitors on site.